Annecy part 3: Friday and Saturday

I’m so sorry this is such old news…it took me ages to get this online…

Friday 11th June part 2

16:00 Making of Pixar: Three Dimensional Storytelling

Finally! The world premiere screening of Day&Night! Catch it before Toy Story 3 or if you live in a country where it’s not out yet… (yeah… same here…) you can see an exclusive clip here.

I think the idea is genius! I really like the integration of 2D and 3D animation. On the story side though I prefered Partly Cloudy. Peter Sohn’s short really got to me. I cry each and every time I see it. I just can’t help myself. Day & Night isn’t as strong emotionally imo. But it’s more interesting considering it uses animation like never before.

After the screening, Teddy Newton, the director, talked about the making of. His initial idea came from a keyhole he was doodling. He added eyes and hands and thought the character looked rather fun. During a trip to Rome, he saw the view of St Peters through the Knight’s of Malta key hole and knew he wanted to do something with this idea…

The toughest part was to get the two mediums to work seamlessly together. He saw it in a very candid way at the beginning and thought it would be pretty simple, but realised quickly that they were actually going to make 3 movies in one: the 3D movie by day, the 3D movie by night and the 2D animation above it all. They had to find a way for the 2D and 3D animations to be framed and timed correctly even though the 2 teams could not see each others work! There was a lot of back and forth and tweaking and adjustments, but I must say, once again, they nailed it!

The second talk was about the use of stereoscopic 3D at Pixar by Bob Whitehill, Stereoscopic Supervisor. At first there was a lot of concern at Pixar about stereo: did they need it, wouldn’t it be distracting, etc.?  His main message was that the way they treat 3D at Pixar is the same as they treat all other techniques: it has to serve the story. It shouldn’t cry for attention, it should just blend in and enhance the mood of the shot.

After the conference I went back to the trade show to clean up the booth. In the evening I met up with friends for diner and drinks. We then went to a party at one of their friend’s apartment. Once again met lots of interesting people and had a great night. Can’t believe it’s the last “Annecy soirée” already!

Saturday 12th June

Only screenings today! Missed the morning one (hard to get up early and had packing to do…)

14:00 Redline
Director Takeshi Koike, Japan, 2009
Wow now that’s crazy anime! Fast paced, lots of techno music, harsh lines and bright colors, cheesy script. I must say it’s not my fave, but it was interesting to see….

18:00 Evangelion shin gekijoban: ha
Direction: Hideaki Anno, Japan, 2009
It is the second of four films released in the Rebuild of Evangelion tetralogy based on the original anime series Neon Genesis Evangelion. I haven’t seen the series nor the first film so there are somw parts of the plot that I didn’t fully understand. Still it was a nice anime if not amazing.

I can’t believe the 50th edition is already over… It was a great year. I had a wonderful time even though I’m totally exhausted! Can’t wait for next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

